CTHRA’s Excellence in HR Awards program was created in 2007 to honor HR professionals within the industry whose outstanding achievement, leadership and innovation have positively impacted business results.  This year's award recipients will be honored at the Excellence in HR Awards Luncheon which will be held in conjunction with CTHRA's HR Symposium on October 2, 2018 in Philadelphia. 


TEAM INNOVATOR OF THE YEAR This award recognizes a company or HR team within a company that demonstrated innovative, creative problem solving that positively impacted company culture or business results such as increased revenue, improved operating efficiencies or reduced expenses.  Nominations are open to all CTHRA member companies. 

2108    Comcast NBCUniversal Disaster Relief Taskforce
2017    NBCUniversal HR for HR Team
2016    ESPN Diversity, Inclusion and Wellness Team (Programmer)
2016    Legacy Time Warner Cable HR Team (MSO)
2015    A+E Networks' Compensation & Benefits Team (programmer)
2015    Comcast's HR Leave of Absence Team (MSO)
2014    Turner Broadcasting System's Global Technology and Operations Team
2013    Cox Communications California System’s People Services Team
2012    Time Warner Cable’s Human Capital and Analysis Team
2011    Discovery Communications Flexible Staffing Group
2010    Turner Broadcasting System Inc.’s HR Technology Team
2009    Comcast’s Human Capital Management Team
2008    The Weather Channel Companies
2007    Cox Orange County and Palos Verdes System (OCPV)


recognizes an emerging HR professional whose fresh perspective, inventive ideas and innovative approach has positively impacted the leadership and culture of the organization. The individual must exhibit professional excellence and a commitment to his/her work in the industry.  CTHRA Aspiring Leader nominations are open to all HR professionals employed by a CTHRA member company.

2018    Terese Farmen, Recognition Program Manager, Cox Communications
2017    Michelle Martin, Vice President of Specialty Services, CBS
2016    Walter Landry, Director of Learning Strategy, Cox Communications
2015    Jennifer Tracy, Senior Director of Talent Acquisition & Diversity, Bright House Networks

2014    Beth Biggs, Senior Director of Benefits, Charter Communications
2013    Angela Mazeres, Senior Director of HR, Bright House Networks
2012    Yvette Smetana, Executive Director of HR, Comcast Cable 


THE LEADERSHIP EXCELLENCE AWARD recognizes an HR executive who has demonstrated extraordinary and visionary leadership in addressing a critical business issue, challenge or opportunity by enhancing an organization’s efficiency, performance, cost management or profitability.  The individual must embody professional excellence and exhibit a strong dedication to the cable and satellite industry.

2014    Kerri St. Jean, SVP of HR, Comcast Cable
2013    Pat Langer, EVP of HR, NBCUniversal
2012    Chris Powell, former EVP of HR, Scripps Networks Interactive
2011    Adria Alpert Romm, SEVP of Global HR, Discovery Communications
2010    Tomas Mathews, former EVP Human Resources, Time Warner Cable
2009    Jack Jackson, VP Human Resources & Administration (retired), C-SPAN
2008    Mae Douglas, SVP and Chief People Officer (retired), Cox Communications
2007    Brian Koenig, SVP Human Resources (retired), Scientific Atlanta


These awards are proudly presented by



With the generous support of our media partner:


powered by MemberClicks